Carpinteria Valley Memorial Stadium
Carpinteria Valley Memorial Stadium was constructed in 1999. The first athletic contest in the stadium was the Homecoming football game against Fillmore on October 22, 1999. The first Russell Cup in the stadium was held the following spring.
CVMS replaced the venerable but overused and decaying Memorial Field at Carpinteria Middle School. Carpinteria High had been “borrowing” the facility since 1967 when Carpinteria High moved to its present location and left the Middle School site.
Carpinteria High once again is the owner of a first class athletic facility. The stadium features a full width natural grass field with a nine lane synthetic running track including a full synthetic D area for high jump. There are two long/triple jump runways and a pole vault runway. Two shot put and discus rings are located on the infield. Seating capacity is approximately 2500.
CVMS has been the annual host of the Russell Cup, the Santa Barbara County Championships and the Tri-Valley League Championships. In 2005, CVMS added the CIF Division IV Prelims to its list of major track & field competitions. This brings back memories of Memorial Field in its heyday. Memorial Field hosted the CIF quarterfinals in 1951, ’53, ’54, ’58 and ’61 and the semi-finals in 1952 and ’54.
The summer of 2007 brings the long-awaited completion of Carpinteria Valley Memorial Stadium. The temporary bleachers on the north side of the stadium have been replaced with a permanent, 600 seat bleacher set. The stadium was offically dedicated on November 11, 2009. The highlight of the Veterans Day ceremony was a keynote address by Retired Rear Admiral Marc Purcell, Class of 1971.
CVMS was made possible through the support of the Carpinteria Unified School District and over a thousand individual donors. The vision of a few became the reality for thousands of students and community members. CVMS is truly a gem that the entire community may be proud of.